EU sanctions five more Russian media outlets

IRIS 2023-7:1/4

Amélie Lacourt

European Audiovisual Observatory

On 25 February 2023, the Council of the European Union adopted its tenth package of sanctions against Russia, banning two channels broadcast in Arabic (see: IRIS 2023-3:1/2). Four months later, on 23 June 2023, five more media outlets were subject to an EU ban as part of the Council’s eleventh package of sanctions against Russia for its continued illegal war against Ukraine.

The broadcasting licenses of RT Balkan, Oriental Review, Tsargrad, New Eastern Outlook and Katehon have been suspended and are now no longer authorised to broadcast in the EU. This decision was taken with the aim to combat disinformation. The Council indeed claims that these media outlets are “under the permanent control of the Russian leadership” and participate in spreading misinformation and propaganda, which, under the terms of the Council, “constitute[s] a significant and direct threat to the Union’s public order and security”. This decision was taken consistently “with the fundamental rights and freedoms recognised in the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union, in particular with the right to freedom of expression and information as recognised in Article 11 thereof”.

All measures and sanctions taken as part of the packages of sanctions against Russia in relation to the war of aggression against Ukraine should be stopped once “Russia, and its associated media outlets, cease to conduct propaganda actions against the Union and its Member States.”


Related articles

IRIS 2023-3:1/2 EU bans Russian Arabic services

This article has been published in IRIS Legal Observations of the European Audiovisual Observatory.