

[DE] Film Agreement between Germany, Austria and Switzerland Signed

IRIS 2011-4:1/21

Anne Yliniva-Hoffmann Institute of European Media Law (EMR), Saarbrücken/Brussels

On 11 February 2011, representatives of Germany, Austria and Switzerland signed an agreement to step up economic and cultural cooperation in the film industry.

The trilateral film agreement creates a legal framework for cooperation between producers from the three signatory States. It promotes the bi- or trilateral co-production of cinematographic works (Art. 1). Such co-productions will be categorised as national films and therefore be eligible to receive national funding (Art. 2(1) and (2)).

A further condition is that the financial, artistic or technical contribution of each producer must represent at least 20% of the overall costs (Art. 4), while these contributions must also be properly balanced (Art. 6).

The responsible authorities under the agreement are the German Bundesamt für Wirtschaft und Ausfuhrkontrolle (Federal Office of Economics and Export Control), the German Filmförderungsanstalt (Film Support Office), the Austrian Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft, Familie und Jugend (Federal Ministry of Economy, Family and Youth) and the Swiss Bundesamt für Kultur (Federal Office of Culture) (Art. 2(4)).

Previous bilateral agreements between the parties expired with the entry into force of this trilateral agreement, which remains valid for an indefinite period (Art. 14(3); see IRIS 2004-10/105 and IRIS 2004-10/103).

Trilaterales Abkommen zwischen der Regierung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, der Regierung der Republik Österreich und der Regierung der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft über die Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Film

http://www.parlament.gv.at/PAKT/VHG/XXIV/I/I 01072/imfname 206635.pdf

Trilateral agreement between the Governments of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Austria and the Swiss Confederation concerning cooperation in the film sector

