

Council of Europe: Bulgaria Ratifies the Convention on Transfrontier Television

IRIS 1999-4:1/3

Susanne Nikoltchev European Audiovisual Observatory

On 3 March 1999 Bulgaria ratified the Council of Europe Convention on Transfrontier Television, which will now enter into force for Bulgaria on 1 July 1999. The Convention was the first international treaty to establish a legal framework for the free circulation of transfrontier television programmes in Europe. It has been ratified by Austria, Cyprus, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Malta, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom and in the Holy See and signed by Estonia, Greece, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, and Ukraine. The Protocol amending the Convention was adopted on 9 September 1998 and will enter into force on 1 October 2000 at latest (see IRIS 1998-9: 4).

