

Council of Europe: Lithuania Signed the European Convention on Cinematographic Co-Production

IRIS 1998-9:1/5

Susanne Nikoltchev European Audiovisual Observatory

On 8 September 1998 Lithuania signed the European Convention on Cinematographic Co-production, which addresses the need for harmonisation and provides a legal framework for relations between states in multilateral co-productions of cinematographic films. The Convention applies to co-productions involving at least three different states and meeting the definition of a European cinematographic work under the assessment criteria laid down by the Convention. The Convention defines the status of multilateral co-productions, which are entitled to the benefits granted to national films, the conditions for obtaining co-production status, the rights of co-producers, and the proportion of contributions from each co-producer. Since 1992 the Convention has come into force in Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Belgium, France, Greece, Turkey, and the Holy See have signed the Convention. http://services.obs.coe.int/en/index.htm

