english francais deutsch

IRIS 2019-1:1/32


New members of the National Audiovisual Council

print add to caddie Word File PDF File

Eugen Cojocariu

Radio Romania International

On 14 November 2018, the Romanian Parliament validated seven new members of the Consiliul Naţional al Audiovizualului (National Audiovisual Council - CNA), the audiovisual watchdog (see, inter alia, IRIS 2015-10/27).

The seven new members will occupy seats that have been left vacant. A seat was left vacant after the recent resignation of a CNA member, and six mandates expired on 20 December 2018. The new members are Cristina Pocora (appointed by the presidential administration), Răsvan Popescu (nominated by the Romanian Government), Nicolae Bălaşa, Monica Gubernat and Elena Sorescu (all three proposed by the Social Democrat Party - the main ruling party), Alexandru Cristea (proposed by the National Liberal Party - the main opposition party), and Eva Borsos Orsolya (proposed by the Hungarian Democratic Union of Romania - another of the parliamentary opposition parties). They will have a six-year mandate.

A total of 20 candidates were heard by Parliament's joint culture committees. Only seven out of 20 received a favourable majority opinion. Ms Gubernat and Mr Popescu are members of the acting can, and they will continue to work within the CNA for an additional mandate. Mr Popescu is the current vice-president of the CNA.

The CNA is composed of 11 members and is appointed for a term of six years. Under Audiovisual Law no. 504/2002 and subsequent amendments thereto, the National Audiovisual Council is the guarantor of the public interest with regards to the audiovisual sector.

Aviz comun asupra propunerilor Senatului, Camerei Deputaţilor, Guvernului şi Preşedintelui României pentru Consiliul Naţional al Audiovizualului RO
  Joint opinion on the proposals of the Senate, the Chamber of Deputies, the Government and the President of Romania in respect of the National Audiovisual Council